Overflowing Movies, Unidentifiable Bugs, And More Life Frustrations

I have this long list of movies to see and it only gets longer no matter how many movies I try to catch up on. My main priorities (movies) are:

  • The Avengers
  • Men in Black 3
  • The Winning Season (can’t find it anywhere to rent)
  • The Boys Are Back (can’t find it anywhere to rent)
  • Dr. T and the Women (can’t find it anywhere to rent)
  • Drowning Mona (can’t find it anywhere to rent)
  • Goodfellas
  • Brave
  • Anchorman (trying to find it before the second comes out)
  • Pulp Fiction
  • Smokey and the Bandit 2 (can’t find it)
  • The Brave (can’t find it in the whole U.S.)
  • Alien
  • Loosies
  • Ghost (I can’t bear to watch sad movies, but this is a must according to my mom)
  • Mirror Mirror
  • Snow White and the Huntsman

I usually just wait to rent from Redbox, but I’m rather impatient for some movies. Also, it’s not like I have an unlimited supply of money to go to the theaters every movie or so. Speaking of which, I’m looking forward to these this year:

  • The Amazing Spider-Man (tomorrow – July 3rd)
  • The Watch (July 27th)
  • Total Recall (August 3rd)
  • Hope Springs (August 10th)
  • Premium Rush (August 24th)
  • Lawless (August 31st)
  • The Good Doctor (August 31st – I might wait for this to come to DVD)
  • Taken 2 (October 5th)
  • The Wedding (October 19th)
  • Robot & Frank (October 25th)
  • Thor 2 (November 8th)
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (December 14th)

There are a few others, but the above list are the ones I’m really excited about seeing.
I think I watched like three movies yesterday. I hadn’t planned on the third one, but while I was updating my movie lists (apparently that’s all I ever do – update lists) and browsing IMDb, I came across something so awesome my heart skipped a beat; I watched a full length movie, S.W.A.T., for free on this website I discovered also: Crackle. So I stayed up and enjoyed my luck.

Lately I’ve been having extreme cellphone frustrations and problems. I have been through THREE of these (two within the last 30 days). I think I want this one but tomorrow I’m getting this as a replacement. I hate the Windows platform; I have had nothing but problems with them in the past. Nobody even trusts them anymore! You hardly ever see a popular website offering an app available on Windows. I went through a list (ha!) of my favorite apps and came up short with a few when comparing Android and Windows. GoodReads does not have an app for Windows; that really sucks. But I got a few of my other favorites. Ugh, I am so sick of resetting phones! But there’s not much of anything I can do about it. It just is what it is unfortunately. Damn.

I’m going back and forth with college decisions, so nothing is permanent. No problem. I’m used to it, and I’m not particularly looking forward to heading back to college online or not. But I have to do something, and no one will hire me. I blame the government. Why must things have to be so complicated? Yeah yeah, I love my country, and things could be worse, but we have some serious problems that aren’t going anywhere because it takes so long to make a final decision!

Meanwhile I’m looking around the house for the important documents I need to switch my driver’s license (I still have a Texas license, living in Tennessee). I’m trying to get it all done before the voting starts. I’ve given myself a deadline of one month or so before November 6th to get everything in (30 days to deal with the voter’s registration crap). I don’t mean to get into politics, but I have a strong feeling that our votes don’t matter. Things are so not what they should be. But I want to vote this year. It’s especially important considering this will be my first time. It takes so much just to prove existence..it’s really annoying.

We have a major spider problem. There are wasps too, but oddly enough they’re friendly. I sprayed wasp spray the other day because they were swarming around the front door. I stood in the doorway while spraying all around where I could reach; I sprayed the doorway above my head like a dumbass. I rinsed my head and arms unsure of how toxic it is to humans (who reads the warning labels?). I ended up using the whole can; if you ask me, they don’t put enough in there in the first place. What a rip off. Same with cereal and chips and soda bottles, etc. Is it too much to ask to get my money’s worth?
Anyway, the spider problem: now that I think about it, it’s quite funny. First off, my advice is to get bug spray for the specific pest you are trying to rid of. Don’t get the combination. So, the other night I was sitting in my beanbag chair about to watch a movie on my portable DVD player, when I saw a huge spider out of the corner of my eye. So far, I have not been able to identify a single creature here in Tennessee. All that I’m sure of are these spiders, but don’t ask me the species, I have no earthly idea and I don’t feel like looking through millions of photos in catalogs online. Been there done that. Very exhausting and very creepy.
I jumped out of the chair immediately, tossing my DVD player on the floor, trying to get far away from the spider. It was slightly smaller than my hand, but the biggest spider I’ve seen so far (besides tarantulas). I grabbed the can of bug spray that supposedly kills ants, roaches and spiders. The first clue should have been obvious: it had a picture of illustrating a roach being killed. So I sprayed the spider as it tried to make its escape (sometimes I feel guilty about this) with the stuff and it just kept crawling fast away. I just about emptied the whole can on the thing and it still kept going! My mom came in with wasp spray (specifically for wasps) and sprayed a little directly on the spider. Guess what? Yeah, it died instantly. That was a major WTF? moment. It was also a terrifying experience for me. As if I don’t have enough phobias as it is with insects! My worst fear is losing sight of the insect I’m trying to kill.

My pets are all still crazy, my cat is still greedy and weighs 10.6 pounds (!). She’s not liking her new diet so she occasionally vomits un-chewed kernels from eating so fast. My dog won’t stop acting like a cat, and my other cat is more rebellious than a teenager. Oh, and the bird is still screaming his head off unless symphony-like music is playing. These pets are work. Sometimes, it really does feel like a zoo.

I’ve been doing other things so I’m still reading On the Road – by Jack Kerouac. It’s…ongoing with pointless adventures or rather, living life to the extreme fullest. It’s good.

“I had nothing to offer anybody except my own confusion.” – Pg. 104 of On the Road by Jack Kerouac.

Leave a Reply

