Mousie R.I.P

Ever since I tied a mouse cat toy to an old shoelace I found, I have had nothing but problems with my cat, Cleopatra, and her obsession with ”Mousie”. She would have me tease her with the toy as often as she succeeded in disturbing me. I couldn’t sleep without her whining about Mousie. I kept Mousie hidden when I wasn’t teasing Cleopatra with it, but she always knew exactly where I placed it. Smart, yet annoying cat. Sometimes, she would take matters into her own…paws, and find Mousie. After that, I kept it in a drawer next to my bed; but that didn’t stop her from climbing on my fragile things trying to get to Mousie. It was a nightmare, and my own fault. So day after day, we played with Mousie, but it was never long enough for Cleopatra’s satisfaction. When I would tell her ”Okay, Mousie time is over..” and begin to put Mousie away, Cleopatra would follow me screaming what sounded like ”Noooooo!” in meow-language and watch Mousie go bye-bye with the still expectant look on her face. I hardly ever see her sleep, which is uncommon for cats. My other cat, Jade, sleeps the normal 20+ hours. They’re sisters, yet unique in strange ways. Yesterday, when we doing the Mousie ritual, Cleopatra finally pulled hard enough (she has QUITE the painful grip) and Mousie came in two. She preceded to finish off Mousie’s outer layer. We have tons more mice toys all around the house and under things, but the cats are surprisingly very rough on the toy mice, so my mom keeps buying more packs of toy mice from Petco, which I don’t see is helping matters. Also, the cats have a tendency to put mice in their water bowls which confuses me still. But then again, they’re cats, and they are strange creatures themselves.
Mousie is in a bucket right now; I didn’t have the heart to throw it away despite the unrepairable demolition. Maybe it’s my pack rat issues, or maybe it’s the sweet look on Cleopatra’s face, but Mousie will be fixed somehow involving replacement. As soon as I find another toy mouse around here that is dark grey and rattles…

Leave a Reply

