There Really Isn’t Anything Else To Talk About

Every now and then I have moments in which nothing in my current stack of library books interests me. It doesn’t last long though.
The current stack:

Okay For Now by Gary D. Schmidt

Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

Ten Things We Did (and probably shouldn’t have) by Sarah Mlynowski

Boy Toy by Barry Lyga

Ten Miles Past Normal by Frances O’Roark Dowell

Border Crossing by Jessica Lee Anderson

I’m picky yet all over the place in the genres of books. Sometimes this, sometimes that. It just depends on the moment I guess.

But enough about books…

I don’t really have anything else to talk about besides books. That’s sad, I know. I’m working on it; not really but really. But not really. If that makes any sense?

I’m just now realizing my blogging consists of lists and books. Not necessarily in that order.

I received $20 a few hours ago from a generous-but not so generous family member, and two hours after that (including one hour of doing entirely nothing but thinking of what I want as I scanned my room. I seriously had the same pose of ‘The Thinker’ while sitting on my bed.) I finally decided what I think I wanted. So I called my favorite bookstore and had them hold The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A. J. Jacobs. I stuttered on the Biblically part (easier said than done), but luckily she knew what I meant. They have it. One hardcover. $6.99. Hell yeah. I’m proud to say I’m a successful bargain shopper. During the hour of thinking of what to buy (yes, cash always seems to ‘burn a hole in my pocket’), I also considered other reasonably priced stores. Except Barnes & Noble, who is never reasonably priced (I miss Borders already). There is nothing wrong with a used book so long as the previous owner treated the book with respect. I’ve seen people use books as coasters and the like. If you are one of these people, shame on you. A few days ago I could have easily been called a hypocrite, but I really didn’t have a place to put my drink but on a book. My desk is crowded with books and more books. I feel terrible about it.
Once again, I really didn’t intend for this post to be about books, but I really have nothing else to talk about, since that’s all that goes on in my life.
I could talk about how much of a pain in the ass my two cats are, but I don’t feel like getting into that at the moment. I still have trouble sleeping because of them! Especially Cleopatra…

Leave a Reply

