Pick A State, Any State

Just about everyday has been uneventful. There’s not much to talk about when nothing happens, but I like it when nothing happens because then there’s peace.

I finished The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger yesterday I think. It was an enjoyable read.
I’m trying to get the classics out of the way before I start reading the latest novels again and others from the library. I feel like I should have read them years ago. Probably.
These are next:

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (currently reading)
  2. 1984 by George Orwell
  3. On the Road by Jack Kerouac

I use the library a lot because it’s easier to rent novels I’ve never read before free of charge, instead of buying them and taking the risk of displeasure. So I save $20 every now and then.
The only problem with the library is that they don’t always have the latest novels. It’s uncommon for them to have books published in 2009+, which is extremely frustrating. Sometimes I have no choice and have to make a few purchases, but it’s a last resort.
I was browsing my local library’s web page and noticed a “suggestion” link for the first time (I swear I don’t remember it being there). Hopefully the librarian will approve the purchase suggestions of the new books I sent.
I have a list of 100+ books to read; it grows just about everyday. I find it exciting rather than the overwhelming emotion most people have.

I’ve been renting Redbox DVDs quite frequently lately.
I finally got around to watching Charlie St. Cloud. It was truly beautiful. I really understood it almost to the point of tears.
The Company Men is a movie I’m considering buying. It’s rare that you find a movie that depicts the actual reality of struggle.

In about 136 days, it will be time to move. Hopefully by then my mom and I both will have jobs. Otherwise, it’s another year or so here at this apartment. I hate moving; it’s such a pain in the ass. It’s not just the labor that’s the problem, it’s the effort in which I try to protect my fragile items. I’ve been through three lava lamps; for some reason, I can’t seem to move to another place without breaking a lava lamp. Also, we have way too much junk. I think it took two moving trucks last time.
There aren’t much of any jobs out there nor much time left. My mom is trying to get into a Public Relations career, or possibly writing. Me, I have enough experience to consider a Librarian field, but I really want to be a writer. I wouldn’t mind starting off sorting mail, but all the jobs I’ve applied to won’t even respond.
Nowadays my mom asks me to “pick a state, any state”. Most opportunities seem to be pointing towards Virginia, but I don’t want to live in Virginia; there’s not much out there.

One last thing,
Is there a problem in music not being my everything? I enjoy it every now and then, but I’d much rather be reading.

Leave a Reply

