Communication Issues

Yesterday was a miracle. It rained in Texas; and the temperature kept dropping from the usual 90-something degrees. I didn’t go out until later though. Last time I tried to capture the rare moment of rain on camera, I stepped on a piece of glass only two steps away from the front door. It looked worse than it actually felt.
I had the hardest time answering a poll on Facebook:
If someone wants to contact you, how do you prefer they do it?
  • Phone call
  • Text message
  • Email
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Yell
  • Clap
  • Poke

After a long while of puzzling, I realized the answer I wanted (I don’t want them to contact me) was not going to appear, so I chose email. I hate checking my email; I find it an overwhelming task.

Just about every type of sound bothers me. The worst way to contact me is by phone call. I hate phones; their too noisy, and I’m not much of a talker. I want to communicate with people, but I don’t want to communicate with people (this is just as confusing to me as it is to you).
I considered not answering the poll, but for some unknown reason, I really wanted to answer it.
On the subject of books, I’m currently reading A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan. I’m not reading it like mad as I do other books. It’s a little bit different; too much jumping around from one narrator, to another, to one period of time, to another period of time. It’s confusing, and tests my memory like hell, but I like the story, and I waited months on the library queue to get it, so I’ll finish it; hopefully before it’s due date (July 1st), because I have a strong feeling I can’t re-check it. Someone else is probably requesting it.
I’m also reading Wish I Could Be There: Notes from a Phobic Life by Allen Shawn. It’s a really good book. It’s not really a memoir, but it’s not really a self-help book either. The author just wants people to know they’re not alone when it comes to anxiety and phobias and such.
Yesterday, I Googled nail biting remedies. This is what I found. So, I’ll just be holding my Chucke’cheese block for a while. After ten years, at least the prize is getting some use.
Besides the damn cats interrupting my sleep every night, there’s not much else to talk about.
“Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere.” – Chinese Proverbs
Leave a Reply

