Unfinished Business of Leisure Activities, and the Devil

There’s a difference between my grandmother and the devil. He is red, and she is not.

Decided to answer my phone this morning…
-Your cousins and people you know and don’t know will be graduating next month. how do you feel about that?
-Fine.
I’ll spare you the gruesome details. But the conversation lasted 13 minutes and 5 seconds. You get the idea.

Almost done with Then We Came to the End by Joshua Ferris. I’m telling you this because I’ve been reading it for a week. Usually (lately) it takes me only three days.
Here are my excuses:
(1) I’ve been distracted with errands and other unpleasant family events.
(2) I can’t believe I’m saying this, but it’s a big book. Not really, but really.

I have unique things pasted to my walls. I don’t really pay them any attention. They’re just there. First there are the Johnny Depp posters that take up the majority of the space; then a few maps here and there, a Keith Urban pin up, a pair of cardboard 3-D glasses from about five years ago, my mom’s work schedule (I can never remember the crazy hours), the local library hours, some sign language and coding printouts, and a handwritten page of the Bill of Rights (useless considering we barely have those rights anymore).

Things have been crazy, and things have been boring. Needless to say, I still find entertainment.

Leave a Reply

