Where is the love?

Today wasn’t a complete waste of time.
I woke up at noon as usual (I should stop saying this, it happens regularly so we’ll just assume I wake up at noon everyday), had my bowl of Honey-Nut Cheerios in peace (surprisingly). Then I got back in bed and finished my book. The last few chapters were very emotional, and I didn’t expect that, but overall it was a good book (sequel actually): “Children of God Go Bowling” by Shannon Olson. Her life oddly resembles mine in a way.
I wrote a little after I finished the book. I didn’t start on the next book immediately like I used to. I guess since it was so emotional, I just wanted it to sink in, and think about it a little bit more. But my next book is: “Lottery” – by Patricia Wood.
The rest of the day was devoted to Tumblr. I stated my opinion on a post about ageism (I seem to be stating my opinion a lot lately). Basically my point is Ages 13-19 are considered teenage years. Why single anyone out when they’re in the same category? Everyone hates 13yr-olds supposedly because they’re immature. There are several immature people in the world. It doesn’t have to be a specific age. You can be 40-something and still be immature. It just depends. I’m seventeen; I’ll be eighteen at the end of May this year. I was pretty much immature up till February 2010. My dad’s death had a great impact on me; still does. I’ve changed into a completely different person. Mostly someone silenced.
You can say you’re 17. But proclaiming your age doesn’t tell your maturity level. You can assume, but you can never be sure. We’re all young. The world is fucked up enough as it is; why do more damage? Why not just come together? Different countries are struggling with different-yet-similar issues; whether it be leadership, or financial issues, or anything else, one thing is certain: the world is struggling. They’re aren’t that many people that see this.

Maybe I’m naive, but this is just how I see the world. Among other things.

Leave a Reply

